RESTLESS NYC is an on and off-site theatrical enterprise designed to excavate classical texts as a source of contemporary performance. To engage the past in a dialogue about its life in the present.

An urgent imperative for the language is sought through contemporary circumstance and modes of performance that disrupt the texts and push the productions beyond interpretation.

The work seeks to bring together opposite ends of the audience spectrum – the enthusiast who brings prior knowledge to the performance and the novice who might question its relevance. In this way, Restless productions strive to challenge the expert and include the newcomer.

Season One (2004)

As You Like It: restless in arden Shakespeare NYC Premiere performed site-specifically in an vacant building in the Garment District. Developed at Chashama in 2002. more info >>

Season Two (2010)

R ii Shakespeare Developed site-specifically with an LMCC Swing Space residency May – June 2010. more info >>


Season Three (2014)

This Was The End Chekhov (formerly Vanya) Development at Mabou Mines/SUITE 2009-2011, The Performing Garage Presents 2013 & Chocolate Factory 2014. Foundation support from NYSCA & Foundation for the Contemporary Art’s Emergency Grant. NYC Premiere: February 2014 at the Chocolate Factory more info >>


Season Four (2015)

LITTLE CRIMES: 2 Chamber Opera Adaptations of Chekhov Short Stories – Sleepyhead & Little Apples. Developed in Vancouver & NYC in conjunctions with Restless Productions Vancouver: Composer James B. Maxwell, Librettist Alex Ferguson, Choreographer Claire French, Installation Artists Hadley + Maxwell. Projected Vancouver/NYC Premieres: Winter 2015.

DONATE to support the development of this work:


Restless NYC is a project sponsored by Fractured Atlas, a non-profit arts service organization. Contributions in behalf of Restless NYC may be made payable to Fractured Atlas and are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

Institutional Support: Chashama, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, Mabou Mines/SUITE, Jerome Foundation, Canada Council for the Arts, Yaddo & NYSCA.

Private Donors: Toni & Pete Peters, Jill Mueller, Charles Weishar, Francis & Ray Fox, Joan Smith, Cynthia Strickland Graham, Elizabeth Shellabarger, Janet & Chuck Williams, Studio Allegro, Susan & Bill Catlett, Toni Catlett, Emily & Steve Plesser, Kristina Musser, Elaine & Richard Ottaway, Sue Joffray, Elizabeth & Bill Bayne, Suzanne & George Harris,Jill & Mick Nightengale, Jubilith Moore, DD Kugler, Geoff Proehl, David Nochimson, Jan Marie Miliani, Lisa Nelson, Anna Rabinowitz, Aaron Landsman, Aaron Siegel, Abby Mueller, Alexandra Rosenberg, Alexis Clements, Alison Fleminger, Amy Jensen, Andrew Mueller, Andrew Weems, Anna Ishida, Anna Kohler, Annie Dorsen, Anonymous, Antje Oegel, April Matthis, artepovera, Ashton Applewhite, Aya Ogawa, Ayn Hanna, Barbara Lee, Ben Williams, Bertie Ferdman, Birgit Huppuch, Boo Froebel, Brad Rothbart, Bruce Allardice & Victoria Abrash, Carissa Adams & Emily Catlett, Carleigh Welsh, Caroline Chavasse, Carrie Schneider, Charles Jarden, Christina Campanella, Christina Hatherly, Christopher Barnett, Claire French/ Restless Productions (YVR), Daniel Brunson, David A. Brown, David Cote, David Herskovits, David Malloy, David Nochimson, David Suehsdorf, Deborah Zlotsky, Denise Kiernan, Diane Borger Zampi, Dina Emerson, Dodds Delzell, Dorrie Williams, Dylan Baker, Ed Hicks, Edward McKeaney, Edward Prunoske, Elizabeth Johnson, Elizabeth Seamans, Eric Cadora, Eric Dyer, Eric Steinberg, Erin Palmer, Francesco DeBaggio, Frank Hentschker, Gary Winter, George Hofheimer, Gioia Fonda, Gordon Wang, Grant Neale, Gwenessa Lam, Heather Hollingsworth, Heather Mourer, Helene Lesterlin, Hillary Gardner, Hunter Canning, Ian Belton, Ilana Brownstein, Jacob Margolin, James Findlay, James Maxwell / Restless Productions (YVR), Janet D Clancy, Janet Williams, Jean Churchill, Jeanette Yew, Jeanne Drennan, Jennifer Gibbs, Jenny Schwartz, Jessie Mueller, Joanna P. Adler, Joe Lo Truglio, Joe Stackell, John Haskell, John Jesurun, John Lutterbie, Jon Lane, Jonathan Dembrow, Joseph Silovsky, Joshua Higgason, Julian Mesri, Julie Archer, June & Gregory Crane, Kate benson, Kate Scelsa, Katie Pearl, Kay Grigar, Kelli Powell, Kevin Laibson, Kim Weild, Kim Whitener, KJ Sanchez, Kristin Marting, Kristina Gitterman, Laryssa Husiak, Laura Quigley, Laura Tietjen, Leah Nanako Winkler, LeeAnne Hutchison, Libby King, Lida Nosrati, Lisa D’Amour, Liv Cummins, Liza Lorwin, Loren Toolajian, Madeleine Oldham, Maedhbh Fiona Mc Cullagh, Marion Holt, Martha and Richard Nochimson, Martha Steketee, Mary Q Archias, Matthew Maguire, Maury Landsman, Michael Barakiva, Mike Perillo, Mirit Tal, Mitchell Riggs, Moira Brennan, Nicholas Senn, Nichole Gantshar, Nick Benacerraf, Oliver Butler, Olivia Keister, Paul Walsh, Paul Zimet, Philippa Wehle, Polly Carl, Rachel Catlett, Rachel Chavkin, Rachelle Plante, Randy Perry, Rebecca Warner, Richard Maxwell, Rina Liddle, Rupert Nesbitt, Sallie Sanders, Sandra Bumgarner, Sarah Caldwell, Sarah Cameron Sunde, Satya Bhabha, Scott Shepherd, Scott Sowers, Scott Sparvero, Shannon Harris, Sixto Wagan, Stephanie Fleischmann, Susan Bernfield, Sylvan Oswald, Tal Yarden, Tanya Marquardt, TaraFawn Marek, Tarik O’Regan, Teddy Nicholas, Teresa Connors, Thomas Crochunis, Thomas Parnell, Timothy Carlson, Tom Shragg, Tony Torn, Trish Mulholland, Vallejo Gantner, Will Bond, William Cusick & Yelena Gluzman.